You are viewing cascreamindude

The Left Field Corner
MLB Umpire Ejection Fantasy League
Unofficial Ejections: Derryl Cousins (1, 2) 
2nd-Jun-2010 06:07 pm
Umpire Pic
3B Umpire Derryl Cousins unofficially ejected Tigers bench player Gerald Laird and Manager Jim Leyland for arguing a safe call by 1B Umpire Jim Joyce which occurred in the top of the 9th inning of the Indians-Tigers game. With two out and none on, Indians shortstop Jason Donald hit a 1-1 slider from Tigers pitcher Armando Galarraga to Tigers first baseman Miguel Cabrera, who threw the ball to Galarraga as Donald arrived at first base. Replays appear to indicate that Galarraga gained possession of the throw prior to Donald touching first base, the call was incorrect. Donald was the Indians' only baserunner of the contest, and this play resulted in the Indians' only hit. At the time of the unofficial ejections, the contest was over and the Tigers had won, 3-0.

These are Derryl Cousins (13)'s first and second unofficial ejections of 2010.
Derryl Cousins remains at zero points in the UEFL. Unofficial Ejections do not result in the assessment of points.
Jim Joyce was the Umpire of the Year award winner following the UEFL 2009 Season.

These are the first and second unofficial ejections of 2010.

Wrap: http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/gameday/index.jsp?gid=2010_06_02_clemlb_detmlb_1

Video: http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=8616789

VIdeo (2): http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=8624945

Video (3): http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=8630535

Video (4): http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=8632475

Video (5): http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=8632337

Video (6): http://espn.go.com/video/clip?id=5245489

Relevant Rule
MLB 2.00 - TAG; A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove; or touching a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball, while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove.
Comments 
3rd-Jun-2010 01:28 am (UTC)
Anonymous
Great call, Jim! He never had control until he popped the ball down into the glove's pocket way after the runner touched first. SAFE.
3rd-Jun-2010 01:29 am (UTC)
Anonymous
Watched this game in HD. The stitching of the ball is definitely moving around, rattling around in the glove, it's a fair call in a tight spot. No one likes to break up a perfect game, but you have to call it the way you see it and call the game correctly, just like the 1B Ump did today.
3rd-Jun-2010 01:47 am (UTC)
Anonymous
Absolutely never had a firm grasp on that ball, so as per Rule 2.00 TAG, Joyce got this one right. Ball was not held securely and firmly until seconds after the runner touched the base.
3rd-Jun-2010 01:54 am (UTC)
Anonymous
If it was such a great call, why did Joyce go apologize to Galaragga after the game? He snow coned the ball, but he had control easy. Joyce called him safe because he said he thought the runner beat him, not because of a juggle.

Just a missed call.
(no subject) - Anonymous - Expand
(no subject) - Anonymous - Expand
(no subject) - Anonymous - Expand
(no subject) - Anonymous - Expand
3rd-Jun-2010 01:59 am (UTC)
Anonymous
Joyce is one of the best umpires in the game...He looks really bad calling safe on real-time,but as the rule states,it is the correct call..

This could cause drama but,in Jim position,would you have let it slide? I realize a rule is a rule,but based on the situation in the game,would you?
3rd-Jun-2010 02:09 am (UTC)
Anonymous
It's tough. On the one hand you want to hand the kid the perfecto, but on the other, there are rules. You've got to remember that in the scheme of things, perfect truly means perfect, and if there was a juggle or slight bobble, just like the balkoff play the other night @LAD, you've got to call it within the rule.
3rd-Jun-2010 02:14 am (UTC)
Anonymous
That's what I like bout this site. Almost every article out there on this game is about a blown call ruining a perfect game and how disappointing, angering, etc. But this post is a simple analysis of the play, with the conclusion of inconclusiveness. I think that's the right call, that it was "inconclusive." And if it's inconclusive, the ball (held firmly and securely) doesn't beat the runner, he's safe.
3rd-Jun-2010 02:25 am (UTC) - Bobbled
Anonymous
Around the 0:10 second mark on the video, I can see Galarraga move his glove as if he didn't have control of the ball. It almost looks like a "double catch"- where he catches it once, doesn't have control, so he catches it again. I know this conclusive evidence of Joyce making the correct call, but I now know myself that this was the correct call.
3rd-Jun-2010 02:37 am (UTC) - Re: Bobbled
Anonymous
I just reread my post... and I left out the word isn't. It should say: I know this ISN'T conclusive evidence of Joyce making the correct call, but I now know myself that this was the correct call.
3rd-Jun-2010 02:31 am (UTC) - Joyce admits he was wrong
Anonymous
Jim JOyce admitted he blew the call.... if that was Bill Hohn the moderator would have called it an incorrect call. But then again JIM JOYCE has more integrity then just about anybody on the planet. As somebody who is my favorite umpire .. Jim you should be commended. And for those of us who have been on a professional field a time or two. you ALL know that he posessed the ball. But i guess if rationalization is the key to life and ignorance is bliss there are a lot of happy people on this site
3rd-Jun-2010 02:32 am (UTC) - Joyce admits mistake
Anonymous
I'm one of the biggest Jim Joyce fans out there. But even he admitted that he got it wrong. According to the article on ESPN:http://sports.espn.go.com/mlb/recap?gameId=300602106 Joyce says, "I just cost that kid a perfect game," Joyce said. "I thought he beat the throw. I was convinced he beat the throw, until I saw the replay." "It was the biggest call of my career," said Joyce, who became a full-time major league umpire in 1989.
He doesn't say anything about posession of the ball, he called him safe based on the foot touching the bag. So, if the reigning umpire of the year admits that he is wrong, then I will go with him. I do know that if Bill Hohn made that call, the comments on here would not be so kind.
3rd-Jun-2010 03:09 am (UTC) - Re: Joyce admits mistake
Anonymous
It was the wrong call. There was possession - barely, but there was.
3rd-Jun-2010 02:35 am (UTC)
Anonymous
None of us on this site are Major League Umpires. Jim Joyce is. If he admits to missing the call after watching the replay several times, then he probably missed the call.

I have all the respect in the world for Jimmy and all of the other Major League umpires, and if he says he missed it, I'm going with him.

3rd-Jun-2010 02:44 am (UTC)
Anonymous
In all fairness, Jim Joyce probably couldn't see the bobble on the replay since we cannot definitively see it. Yes, Joyce made the call based on the race to the bag; but the call was inconclusive (and more than likely correct) because of what actually happened vs. what the umpire's reasoning was behind his call.
(no subject) - Anonymous - Expand
(no subject) - Anonymous - Expand
(no subject) - Anonymous - Expand
3rd-Jun-2010 02:41 am (UTC) - Unofficial ejection?
Anonymous
Where are the "unofficial ejections" coming from? I don't see anything in the box score or the write up about any ejections unofficial or official. Is this just being put up so that we can argue about it or what?
3rd-Jun-2010 02:47 am (UTC) - Re: Unofficial ejection?
Anonymous
It's my understanding that unofficial ejections are when someone is told by the ump to leave or behaves in a manner that would ordinarily cause an ejection, but what differentiates an unofficial ejection from a real ejection is whether it appears in the box score (so obviously, this wouldn't be in the box score, primarily because the game was over). I've seen unofficial ejections reported on here in the past where sometimes news articles were attached, and sometimes they weren't, but they never were listed in the box. Is that about right?
3rd-Jun-2010 03:05 am (UTC) - Sports Center
Anonymous
A replay was just shown on SportsCenter, and they clearly showed the bobble. I feel now that this is conclusive evidence to overturn the call and make it correct.
3rd-Jun-2010 03:06 am (UTC)
Anonymous
Joyce: It was the biggest call of my career and I kicked the **** out of it.

I hope he gets a bot 9 bases loaded, 2 out, 3-2 pitch in Game 7 of the WS, and that he gets the call right.
3rd-Jun-2010 03:11 am (UTC)
Anonymous
You know, I think if Hohn would admit when he messes up or would at least talk about his calls sometimes, that he'd be considered a better umpire. What makes Jim Joyce one of the best guys in the big leagues is how open he is when he makes a mistake, while still being consistent enough to do what he feels is right on AND off the field. And you know what, Hohn WOULD have ejected the first baseman who kept chirping at Joyce during that AB after the infield single. Joyce is a better ump because HE GETS the situation, he UNDERSTANDS where the arguer is coming from, and he knows that the guy is letting off steam, and doesn't need to be ejected during the game, with 2 outs in the ninth inning of a game that has pretty much been decided. Joyce is a smart guy. Other umps just aren't.
3rd-Jun-2010 03:41 am (UTC)
Anonymous
Take a lookie at this article: http://www.freep.com/article/20100602/SPORTS02/100602063/1358/SPORTS/Umpire-Jim-Joyce-apologizes-to-Tigers-Galarraga-for-blown-call

"However, another replay appeared to show that Galarraga bobbled Cabrera’s throw. That means the official scorer (longtime scorer and veteran Detroit journalist Chuck Klonke) possibly — possibly — could charge Galarraga with an error, and Galarraga would receive credit for a no-hitter, even though Joyce didn’t mention a bobbled throw as a reason for his “safe” call. The official scorer is allowed to change a call for 24 hours after the game."
3rd-Jun-2010 03:51 am (UTC)
Anonymous
I like Jim Joyce, and he's no doubt one of the best umpires in the game. But let's be honest, he blew the call, plain and simple. He reviewed the replays after the game, and admitted he was wrong. I'm going to take his word over the word of anyone else.

And I have the utmost respect for him for being a man about it, and admitting he screwed up, and apologizing to Galarraga. He didn't run and hide after the game like a lot of umpires do. He stood up like a man, and admitted his mistake. Major props to him for that.

But he blew the call, and all of this talk about the ball possibly bobbling around in Galarraga's glove is people here trying to look for an excuse and a reason to make Joyce not at fault. That's the plain and simple truth here, folks.
3rd-Jun-2010 04:47 am (UTC) - 100% agree!
Anonymous
Joyce gets a lot of credit also for the way he stood there and took it from Leyland and the players. He could have walked off.
3rd-Jun-2010 04:54 am (UTC) - GREAT umpire: wrong call
Anonymous
Jimmy missed the call.
The "posession argument" my indeed be a ploy for the offical scorer to rule and error and score it a no hitter.

But if you ask any umpire in this or any other forum Jim Joyce unfortunately got a little bit out of position, had a brain fart, and inexplicably rendered the wrong judgement.

That is why Jimmy apologized. He got the call right and he manned up to it. Any respectbale umpire should do that and Jim Joyce is exavtly that.
3rd-Jun-2010 04:55 am (UTC) - He got it right, the wrong way
Anonymous
I agree with the others who suggest he got it right. If you watch, carefully, the first video link, at 1:08, just after the freeze frame on Gallarga's foot on first base, once the video starts again, Gallarga starts to follow through the play and looks down at his mitt. If he clearly had possession, he wouldn't need to look down at his mitt - it would have been securely in the mitt pocket or webbing and he would have felt it there.

However, Jim Joyce wasn't even looking at the ball, he was looking at the feet and listening for the sound of the ball hitting the mitt. This is why he 'saw' the runner beating the ball - because the ball never made enough of a sound to be considered a 'catch' and Joyce had to extrapolate (very quickly) the timing of the ball being presented in the mitt, the runner's foot and Gallarga's foot hitting the base. This, IMHO, is why he felt he missed it - because he never really saw the ball in the first place.

I also agree that it was a nice and respectful gesture that he indicated he missed the call. It was also self-preservation. If he didn't apologize, aside from the haranguing he would get by Detroit fans every time he officiated a DET game, he would get haranguing from MOST fans at any park because, unlike the astute observers on this board, 99% of baseball fans see that call only one way and see Joyce as the sole reason there isn't another Perfect Game on the books. At least this way, he tried to make the best out of a very complicated and difficult situation - including one where people are (literally) calling for his head on a plate.

He got it right, in spite of himself.



3rd-Jun-2010 11:18 am (UTC)
Anonymous
http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=8630535

Audio Comments by Jim Joyce. He almost sounds distraught...I honestly feel for him. I've never seen such class acts. Joyce and Galarraga are awesome guys. Even Leyland after the game said he was way over the line and said the players, managers, writers, and umps are human.

Jim Joyce said he has no ill feeling toward anyone who spoke out.
3rd-Jun-2010 11:22 am (UTC)
Anonymous
http://sports.espn.go.com/mlb/recap?gameId=300602106

Click on the video link that says SC Highlight of the Night

Here is the evidence that can get this call overturned from Inconclusive to Correct. At the mark with 1:52 remaining, you can clearly see the bobble.

I now challenge the inconclusive call.
3rd-Jun-2010 06:47 pm (UTC)
Anonymous
Nope, wrong, that isn't a bobble, first of all. Second of all he had clear possession even after shifting the ball and before Donald touched first base.

I challenge the inconclusive call to incorrect.
(no subject) - Anonymous - Expand
3rd-Jun-2010 01:33 pm (UTC)
Anonymous
I truly feel for Jim Joyce, he's a fantastic umpire and a class act. Unfortunately he appeared to have missed this one, but by no means should this mar a very good career. I also have to wonder if they're going to let him umpire today's game, might not be the most prudent decision to give him any more games in Detroit in the near future.
3rd-Jun-2010 02:22 pm (UTC)
Anonymous
Weird thing is Joyce has the stick today. That will be an interesting game.
3rd-Jun-2010 03:29 pm (UTC)
Anonymous
I had the pleasure of meeting Jim and his wife when he was in town for a Mets series a couple years ago, and he was a genuinely nice man. Gave them directions to a Broadway show they were seeing. I really feel for him in this situation. It's such a shame that a great umpire like him, a guy that has worked numerous World Series and playoff series, will have his career forever defined by this one call. Unfortunately, that's what happens. Just ask Don Denkinger.

And I obviously feel for the kid Galarraga that pitched a perfect game, and will never be recognized for it. He was very classy in the way he handled the whole situation. I don't know if it's possible, or necessarily even the right thing, but I almost hope that MLB overturns Joyce's call, and recognizes Galarraga for the perfect game. I think that might be the best possible way to make something good out of a bad situation all the way around.
3rd-Jun-2010 03:53 pm (UTC) - This is from another forum and I endorse it
Anonymous
Quoting:

The owners should rally and empower the commissioner to exercise a reversal of the call in a very limit circumstance that would not out a Pandora ’s Box form any past situations to be considered. All baseball owners love the game and would never deny a perfect game where one was deserved even if it went against his own team. I suggest the following:

Be it resolved by the unanimous vote of the MLB team owners that. . .

Where there is overwhelming video evidence that an umpire’s judgment call was incorrect,
and
The reversal of said call would have resulted in the final out of the a game,
and
That out would cause a starting pitcher to earn a perfect game or a no-hitter,
and
That out would cause the defensive team to win the game,
and
The umpire who made the alleged incorrect call acknowledges that is was wrong within 5 days,
and,
The umpire’s crew chief acknowledges the call is was wrong within 5 days, and,
The manger of the opposing team acknowledges the call is was wrong within 5 days,
and
The official scorer of the game acknowledges the call is was wrong within 5 days,
and
The commissioner of baseball acknowledges the call is was wrong within 5 days,

Then, in the best interests of the game of baseball, the commissioner may order the umpire’s incorrect call, as acknowledge by all those persons as required above, reversed and award the final out of the game to the winning team. The permanent records of the game, of the teams, players and umpires involved would reflect the call as being an out and no reference would be made to the play as it was originally called.

If the reversal would cause a losing team to become a winning team then the acknowledgments by all those persons as required above must be determined before the team's next scheduled game is played.
3rd-Jun-2010 05:24 pm (UTC)
Anonymous
...tie goes to the runner.
3rd-Jun-2010 07:10 pm (UTC)
Anonymous
No it doesn't. And there was definitely no tie, bobble or not.
(no subject) - Anonymous - Expand
3rd-Jun-2010 08:22 pm (UTC)
Anonymous
It was hearbreaking to see Joyce tearing up as he entered the field today. It was a classy move by Leyland to let Gallaraga deliver the lineup card before the game. Jim Joyce is a genuinely fine man and you can tell how much this game means to him by his emotions over the past 24 hours.
Page 1 of 2
<<[1] [2] >>
This page was loaded Aug 21st 2014, 2:21 am GMT.